“Research collaborations for rapid AI innovation in practice”

SDI-C_logo

The Smart Data Innovation Challenges (SDI-C) concept adds an important component to the Smart Data Innovation Lab (SDIL). Required faster, innovative research can thus be achieved at a low threshold. On the basis of urgent prototypical questions from the industry, the best data-driven AI approaches should prove themselves. Conversely, researchers should be motivated to apply their approaches to machine learning and big data analytics to real data sets.

The project, funded by the Federal Ministry of Research for three years, aims in particular to promote innovative microprojects. KI projects are to be borne equally by industry and research, whereby the research partners are 100% funded for the research and application of new algorithms and thus also contribute to the state of research.

The application partners that contribute data and / or systems benefit directly from the prototypical implementation and the external impact promoted by the project. As in the current phase, the industry’s contribution is the provision of data and human resources needed for joint projects. In addition, both sides benefit from the infrastructure.

The basis for this are the cooperation schemes, including the model contracts that have already been tested in the SDIL, as well as the infrastructure that will be further developed to fit the new format within this project. Projects such as the Smart Data Solution Center (SDSC) funded in Baden-Württemberg, impressively demonstrate the attractiveness of such a conveyance architecture for all those involved.


SDI-C_grafik


Conveyor Call

1st Call for proposals for AI microprojects in the BMBF-funded research project SDI-C

Starting in October 2019, 6 AI microprojects will be funded with a maximum of 6 person-months each, which will be selected competitively within all research institutes of the KIT, Fraunhofer Gesellschaft, DFKI and Forschungszentrum Jülich participating in the SDI-C. The goal is to achieve a short time between idea and implementation in cooperation with the Smart Data Innovation Lab (more information about the project at: More about SDI-C.

Funded will be the personnel costs of the applicant for the handling of machine learning and artificial intelligence issues. It is desired that companies be involved as associated partners and data providers and benefit from the results. The subsidized microprojects will be provided with the resources of the Smart Data Innovation Lab for the duration of the project (SDIL Platform). Funding is provided in each case with a clear reference to industrial data and questions:

4 AI microprojects on high-frequency data streams and time series

Streaming analytics is an important area of ​​AI, when decisions need to be made quickly or data needs to be continuously evaluated. We are looking for innovative research projects based on industrially relevant data, which prototypically demonstrate the efficient use of AI algorithms and architectures on such transient data.

2 open topic AI microprojects with pilot character

In addition, new research impulses with high application potential are to be promoted. Here in particular, projects are also prioritized that open up data that is available for the following tender rounds (in each case within individually to be negotiated conditions of use without restrictions on secrecy).

In addition to the potential for innovation, important selection criteria are, in particular, the use of new industrial data sources. Ideally, data providers should be involved as associated partners in the project. The SDIL provides a legally and technically secure framework for processing the data within the requested microproject. In particular, the integration of data and issues from small and medium-sized companies is desired, which as unsubsidised partners should benefit from the analysis of their data. (Interested companies are welcome to contact office@sdil.de melden.)

The filled out two-page application must be sent to the office of the consortium leader (office@sdil.de) until 21.09.2019 at latest. For technical and organizational questions, KIT is pleased to be the operator of the platform (sdil-platform-support@lists.kit.edu or office@sdil.de).

The application for downloading and filling: SDI-C Call and Application Form

You will receive feedback on the success of the assessment 2 weeks after the submission deadline. The final decommitment is requested by the coordinator and centrally by the sponsored institute and then takes place after a formal examination by the grantor, so that the grants should be available within a few weeks!

“Forschungskooperationen für rasche KI-Innovationen in der Praxis”

SDI-C_logo

Das Konzept der Smart Data Innovation Challenges (SDI-C) erweitert das Smart Data Innovation Lab (SDIL) um eine wichtige Komponente. Geforderte schnellere, innovative Forschung kann damit niederschwellig erreicht werden. Auf Basis von dringenden prototypischen Fragestellungen aus der Industrie sollen sich die besten datengetriebenen KI-Ansätze beweisen. Umgekehrt sollen Forscher motiviert werden, ihre Ansätze Maschinellen Lernens und der Big Data Analytics auf reale Datensätzen anzuwenden.

In dem, drei Jahre vom Bundesforschungsministerium geförderten, Projekt sollen insbesondere innovative Mikroprojekte gefördert werden. KI Projekte sollen dabei zu gleichen Teilen von Industrie und Forschung getragen werden, wobei die Forschungspartner zu 100 % für die Erforschung und Anwendung neuer Algorithmen finanziert werden und somit auch zum Stand der Forschung beitragen.

Die Anwendungspartner, die Daten und/oder Systeme beisteuern, profitieren direkt von der prototypischen Umsetzung und der durch das Projekt geförderten Außenwirkung. Wie schon in der aktuellen Phase ergibt sich der Beitrag der Industrie aus der Zurverfügungstellung der Daten und den Personalressourcen, die für gemeinsame Projekte benötigt werden. Zusätzlich profitieren beide Seiten von der Infrastruktur.

Grundlage hierfür sind die Kooperationsschemata inklusive der Musterverträge die bereits im SDIL erprobt wurden, sowie die Infrastruktur die innerhalb dieses Projektes passgenau auf das neue Format weiterentwickelt wird. Projekte wie das in Baden-Württemberg geförderte Smart Data Solution Center (SDSC) zeigen eindrucksvoll die Attraktivität einer solchen Förderarchitektur für alle Beteiligten.


SDI-C_grafik


Förderaufrufe

1. Ausschreibung von KI-Mikroprojekten im BMBF-geförderten Forschungsprojekt SDI-C

Ab Oktober 2019 können 6 KI-Mikroprojekte mit einem Personenaufwand von maximal je 6 Personenmonaten gefördert werden, die kompetitiv innerhalb aller im SDI-C beteiligte Forschungsinstitute des KIT, der Fraunhofer Gesellschaft, des DFKI und des Forschungszentrums Jülich ausgewählt werden. Ziel ist in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Smart Data Innovation Lab eine kurze Zeitspanne zwischen Idee und Umsetzung zu erreichen (mehr Infos zum Projekt unter: Mehr zum SDI-C finden Sie hier.

Gefördert werden die Personalkosten des Antragsstellers für die Bearbeitung von Fragestellungen des Maschinellen Lernens und der Künstlichen Intelligenz. Es ist gewünscht, dass Firmen als assoziierte Partner und Datenprovider einbezogen werden und von den Ergebnissen profitieren. Den geförderten Mikroprojekten stehen für die Bearbeitung die Ressourcen des Smart Data Innovation Labs für die Projektlaufzeit zur Verfügung (SDIL Plattform). Gefördert werden jeweils mit einem klaren Bezug zu industriellen Daten und Fragestellungen:

4 KI-Mikroprojekte auf hochfrequenten Datenströmen und Zeitreihen

Streaming Analytics ist ein wichtiger Bereich der KI, wenn schnell Entscheidungen getroffen werden müssen oder kontinuierlich Daten ausgewertet werden müssen. Wir suchen nach innovativen Forschungsprojekten auf Basis industriell relevanter Daten, welche prototypisch den effizienten Einsatz von KI-Algorithmen und -Architekturen auf solch transienten Daten demonstrieren.

2 themenoffene KI-Mikroprojekte mit Pilotcharakter

Zusätzlich sollen neue Forschungs-Impulse mit hohem Anwendungspotential gefördert werden. Hier werden insbesondere auch Projekte priorisiert, die Daten erschließen, die für folgende Ausschreibungsrunden zur Verfügung stehen (jeweils innerhalb individuell zu verhandelnden Nutzungsbedingungen ohne Einschränkungen bei der Geheimhaltung).

Wichtige Auswahlkriterien sind neben dem Innovationspotential insbesondere die Nutzung neuer industrieller Datenquellen. Datenprovider sollen idealerweise als assoziierte Partner in das Projekt eingebunden werden. Das SDIL stellt dabei einen rechtlich und technisch sicheren Rahmen zur Verarbeitung der Daten innerhalb des beantragten Mikroprojektes. Gewünscht ist insbesondere die Einbindung von Daten und Fragestellungen aus kleinen und mittelständischen Unternehmen, welche als ungeförderte Partner von der Analyse ihrer Daten profitieren sollen. (Interessierte Unternehmen können sich gerne unter office@sdil.de melden.)

Der ausgefüllte zweiseitige Antrag ist bis spätestens zum 21.09.2019 an das Büro des Konsortialführers (office@sdil.de) zu schicken. Bei technischen und organisatorischen Rückfragen steht das KIT als Betreiber der Plattform gerne zur Verfügung (sdil-platform-support@lists.kit.edu bzw. office@sdil.de).

Der Antrag zum Herunterladen und Ausfüllen: SDI-C Ausschreibung und Antragsformular

Sie erhalten bereits 2 Wochen nach Einreichungsschluss Rückmeldung über den Erfolg der Begutachtung. Die endgültige Mittelentsperrung wird durch den Koordinator und zentral durch das geförderte Institut beantragt und geschieht dann nach formaler Prüfung durch den Fördergeber, so dass die Fördermittel innerhalb weniger Wochen zur Verfügung stehen sollten!